My parents didn’t take pictures of me as a child.

There are a few pictures of me, sure. But only a few, and most of them are from before I was 5. We weren’t poor back then. There are hundreds of pictures from the same time frame as my life, but they’re of the construction jobs.

I have a lot of secrets, and this is one of them.

 

These pictures were all taken over the course of 3 years, with most of them being from 2010. I still had my house back then. I miss that freedom and privacy.

The song I used is “Milk Carton Kid” by The Milk Carton Kids. The song is written about a relationship between a man and a woman, but if you listen to the lyrics it’s pretty easy to see why I chose such a somber song when the pictures seem to  be chipper. “Home is just a broken heart.” The lyric rings true for me due to my childhood.

The pictures are goofy, but the purpose behind the video is much more serious. I’m trying to get past my haunting memories of a broken home.

Sharing this with the world is a big deal to me.

Leave a Reply

